How To Delete A Netflix Profile
Profiles are a really great feature for really any streaming service. Since you are usually sharing your subscription with others in your home (and sometimes those not in your home), and you don’t want your kids, or significant other to ruin your recommendations. So on Netflix, you can create up to five profiles, including a kids specific one that has parental controls.
But what if someone leaves, moves out or you’re no longer sharing Netflix with someone else? What happens to that profile? Well you can delete it. And it’s actually pretty easy to do. Here’s how you can delete a profile on mobile vs on the web. The experience is largely the same on the mobile app and on the web browser, but a few steps are different.
You could also decide to just start over with your Netflix profile if your recommendations have become super messy – usually due to having kids watching Netflix on your profile. But of course, if you are the main profile, this is not possible, unless you want to create a second profile for yourself. Or if you’ve maxed out your five profiles and need a bit more for extra people in your home.
Now, before you delete a profile on Netflix, there are a few things you should be aware of.
Firstly, once you delete that profile, all viewing history and game saves will no longer be available. Secondly, you cannot delete the main profile on your Netflix account. The only way to do that is to delete the subscription entirely, which we have a tutorial on how to do that here.
Deleting a profile is a great way to “start fresh” with your recommendations, which have gotten really good on Netflix in recent years.
How to delete a Netflix profile on the web
First off, you’ll want to navigate to Netflix.com and sign in.
After that, you’ll be greeted with the page asking who’s watching. You’ll see a list of profiles, and below that “Manage Profiles”. Click on Manage Profiles.
You may soon need a new account anyways
Netflix is reportedly cracking down on password sharing, so it’s possible that if you are sharing your account with someone not in your home, you will need to create your own account. Netflix is doing this because it is losing money, and spending a ton on creating new content. Having five people share a Netflix account, makes the price cut pretty small per person, which is why a lot of people do it. But it means that Netflix is losing out on extra cash.
It’s not yet clear how this is going to work for Netflix, and how they are going to be able to crack down on password sharing. But Netflix is sure that there is a way to do it. And you’ll likely end up paying a bit more for password sharing, unfortunately.
Netflix has been going up on its prices quite a bit lately, and that’s mostly due to the fact that they are spending so much on original content. Which also stems from the fact that all the studios have their own streaming services now and want their content on their streaming service. Netflix still licenses quite a bit of content from many different studios, but a growing percentage of its library are TV shows and movies that Netflix actually owns.